RSS

Pink Pearls, Praying for A Cure. My first blog

06 Apr

About a month ago, I was watching a commercial that flashed images of women smiling and cheering; some were running, others were walking arm in arm, and some had tears. When the commercial ended, I remember saying aloud, “I want to be apart of that-I want to do that.” Well, that commercial was for the 2011 Susan G. Komen Race for the Cure.

Two weeks after seeing the commercial and making my declaration, I received an email that said, “As you all know, I am in treatment for breast cancer, and believe me when I say, this is no joy ride, but we must all endure a “Job” experience at some point…You can ease the burden for many yet to be diagnosed with this awful disease.  I would love for you to join my team “Pink Pearls” and walk with us, but if you are not able to join, your generous donation is extremely appreciated.” Brenda Dantzler-Mitchell.

After I regained consciousness, I realized two things: (1) the news that Brenda, a woman I would see and greet at Sunday Worship, was battling breast cancer, and (2) the divine timing of her email. Was God giving me a personal invitation  to join Him where He was working?
Even with divine intervention, I still waited another two weeks before I worked up the courage to call Brenda and ask her if I could document her story (fear is crippling!). Brenda graciously agreed to the idea. Although I am not formally trained in journalism or film, I had to capture Brenda’s story to the best of my ability.  Please support the cause!

Live Life On Purpose Today!

 
12 Comments

Posted by on April 6, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

12 responses to “Pink Pearls, Praying for A Cure. My first blog

  1. Alan King Jr.

    April 18, 2011 at 3:35 pm

    This was a great segment which touched on the human element. I am praying for Brenda and others who are battling cancer head-on. My life too has been impacted by cancer in the loss of loved ones. I support the eradication of cancer and stand with you.

     
    • Live Life On Purpose Today

      April 20, 2011 at 1:07 pm

      Thank you Alan. I appreciate your support and consistent encouragement more than you will ever know 😀

       
  2. jen-jen

    April 19, 2011 at 9:42 pm

    A fantastic story about a courageous lady. Thank you for making this documentary. It is touching, real, and has inspired me to be even more supportive of Brenda. Thank you.

     
    • Live Life On Purpose Today

      April 20, 2011 at 1:05 pm

      Hi Jen,
      Thank you for your comments. Y’know, I am really thankful for the opportunity to capture Brenda’s story. It is an experience I will never forget. I am amazed that we were able to capture all of “that” from one impromptu meeting!
      I will see you on May 15th 😀

       
  3. Charlene Berry

    April 20, 2011 at 4:37 pm

    What an awesome job you did. You have a true and remarkable talent. Brenda is definitely in my prayers. I just want to thank you for allowing God to work in and through you. I have a walk scheduled for May 22, but, after learning of this one, I am going to have to change that date to May 15. I am going to leave this site and join the pink pearls now. Thank you again.

     
    • Live Life On Purpose Today

      April 20, 2011 at 5:25 pm

      Hey Sis Charlene, thank you. For me, this was a clear invitation from God to join Him where He was already working 🙂 I look forward to walking with you on the 15th. xxoo

       
  4. Brenda Dantzler-Mitchell

    April 26, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    Kawanzaa,
    What can I say but…I love you! You took my story and published it with so much passion and grace. I didn’t know what the world would see or think of me, but I have received nothing but praises for your blessed talent. You are an amazing woman with a God given talent second to none, keep up the good work my sister. Go Pink Pearls…Praying For a Cure

     
    • Live Life On Purpose Today

      May 3, 2011 at 1:18 am

      Brenda,
      It was truly a joy capturing your faith, beauty, and strength. I will never forget this experience- thank you. Love you!

       
  5. Neat Neat (Anita)

    May 16, 2011 at 6:01 pm

    What an awesome God that we serve! My dear sister Kawanzaa, I am so excited to see the manifestation of God’s gift over your life. “Looking to see where God is at work so that we may join Him”. My how Jen-Jen blessed Prayer Class 10 with her obedience and here we are over 10 years later, still “Looking to see where God is at work so that we may join Him”. I feel very blessed to be a part of the journey, as a member of Prayer Class # 10 and now as a member of “The Pink Pearls” .Kawanzaa, may God continue to use and bless you as you share the gift of ” spreading the good news” by using 2011 technology! . I L – O – V – E YOU!!

     
    • Kawanzaa

      May 17, 2011 at 12:40 am

      Hey Anita!
      I know, Prayer class 10 is such good seed. When good seed falls on the fertile soil of willing hearts, God will be glorified! I so appreciate your words of life! I love you sis 🙂

       
  6. mary c mccauley

    May 16, 2011 at 10:31 pm

    kawanzaa thank you for the forum. I have been blessed to have known Brenda for many many years.she is an eloquent lady and will continue to be in my prayers. love what you are doing. God bless.

     
    • Kawanzaa

      May 17, 2011 at 12:10 am

      Hi Mary,
      Thanks for stopping by and sharing your thoughts :-). I can attest to your sentiments about our dearest Brenda. I will join my prayers with yours for her.

      Blessings!

       

Leave a Reply

 
